CONTACT: Alana Davis, Press Director, or 845-679-4265



The Fiercely Independent Festival Concludes with an Inspiring Ceremony and Audience Favorites

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature:




directed by Frank Lotito




TIE FOR Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature:

Left on Purpose
Directed bY Justin Schein

She's the best thing in it 
Directed by ron NyswaneR

(Woodstock, NY) October 5, 2015 - With every overflowing ballot basket from each screening accounted for, the annual Audience Award winners are in. The 16th annual fiercely independent Woodstock Film Festival wrapped up Sunday night as guests enjoyed the final screenings of narratives, documentaries, and shorts. Thousands of filmmakers, industry members, and film lovers from around the country and the globe attended nearly 130 films, panels, and special events in Woodstock, Rhinebeck, Rosendale, Kingston and Saugerties.

Atom Egoyan and Guy Maddin honored at 2015 Woodstock Film Festival Maverick Awards. Photo by Simon Russell

Saturday night's Maverick Awards Ceremony was a birthday celebration to remember. The evening honored the exceptional films and talent at this year's festival, including honorary award recipients Atom Egoyan and Guy Maddin, two of Canada's most celebrated filmmakers. 

The Honorary Maverick Award was presented to acclaimed director Atom Egoyan. Among his films are the groundbreaking Exotica, the multi-award winning The Sweet HereafterFelicia’s JourneyWhere the Truth LiesDevil’s Knot, and this year's Opening Night Film, Remember (starring Christopher Plummer). Egoyan delves into issues of memory, displacement, and the impact of technology and media in modern life in his diverse oeuvre, which also includes theater, music, and art instillations. 

Guy Maddin was presented with the second annual Fiercely Independent Award. Maddin has directed numerous shorts and eleven feature-length films, including The Saddest Music in the WorldMy Winnipeg, and most recently, this year's Closing Night FilmThe Forbidden Room. His most distinctive quality is his penchant for recreating the look and style of silent or early-sound-era films, honoring classic cinema while electrifying it with energy.

All Maverick Award winners can be found HERE.

Featuring the celebration of these visionary Canadian filmmakers and their work, our Spotlight on Dutch Cinema in partnership with The Netherlands Consulate and Dutch USA, and our expanded World Cinema program, this year's festival was a global filmmaking celebration.

For the Woodstock Film Festival, local communities did a great deal in lifting up the independent film world by graciously opening their doors to festival-goers. A volunteer team of over 200 made the festival possible along with thousands of enthusiastic audience members and over 250 actors and industry members in attendance. The Hudson Valley streets were filled with festival spirit.


highlights from the 16th Annual Woodstock Film Festival:

Festival attendees included Rose McGowan, Jackson Browne, Carlos Varela, Atom Egoyan, Guy Maddin, Jack McGee, Stewart Copeland, Mary Stuart Masterson, Barbara Kopple, Josh Fox, Leon Gast, Krishna Das, Matthew Gray Gubler, Stephen Lang, Mark Osborne, Lori Singer, Ross Partridge, Bill Plympton, Phillipe Petit, Leah Meyerhoff, Doreen Ringer-Ross, Johnny Steele, Will Durst, Julie Gonzalo, Michael McDowell and many more.

Check photos from the 2015 Woodstock Film Festival below and on our Flickr account: 

Gallery Block
This is an example. To display your Flickr images, double-click here to add an account or select an existing connected account. Learn more

The 17th annual Woodstock Film Festival will take place next fall in October 2016! Mark your calendars and look forward to joining WFF for yet another year of celebrating fiercely independent filmmaking. Keep up to date with everything WFF through our official website, signing up for our monthly newsletters and following the festival's latest news on social media. See you next autumn!

CLICK HERE FOR HI-RESOLUTION PHOTOS and visit the WFF YouTube channel for video coverage from the 16th annual Maverick Awards Ceremony as well as other 2015 festival Q&As and panels.